Refinishing Frames

I’ve kind of developed a fetish for picture frames. I love looking at them in the stores, buying them, and also refinishing old frames. (What I really need to do now is get pictures into them!). I purchased a bunch of old frames at a garage sale a while back and haven’t gotten around to fixing them up until recently. I was at HomeGoods (the decorating side of T.J. Max) and found all sorts of inspiration. Here’s a couple of the frames I’ve done so far. It really is so much fun to personalize these old frames! I plan to get a picture collage on my wall once I get more of them done.

Before

Here’s the before of the first picture frame. Black frame with some pink chives….hmmm

This here is the refinished picture frame. First I sanded it down. Then I painted a few coats of some dark blue craft paint on it. Last I found a cool Moroccan textile pattern and freehanded it onto the front using a thin tip metalic silver marker. And voila! A finished new frame!

This here is the refinished picture frame. First I sanded it down. Then I painted a few coats of some dark blue craft paint on it. Last I found a cool Moroccan textile pattern I liked and freehanded it onto the front using a thin tip metalic silver marker. And voila! A finished new frame!

This here is another frame I refinished. Did the same sanding, painting and for this one I used a Martha Stewert stencil to paint on the white designs. Then I gave it a good sanding down to give it a distressed look.

This here is another frame I refinished. Did the same sanding, painting and for this one I used a Martha Stewert stencil to paint on the white designs. Then I gave it a good sanding down to give it a distressed look.

Leave a Reply

