Upcycled Dinner Plates

I recently got some new bowls and plates and was about to drop off the old ones at Goodwill, when I realized I could have some fun painting them. I started out by painting the plates a brown color, and when it was mostly dry I used a paper towel to scrape off about half of it (scraping it towards the outside edge). That way, when I painted the yellow and teal on top it had a distressed look underneath. Once that layer was dry I used sandpaper to rough up the ridges. Then I used a white acrylic paint pen to draw the design in the middle. Lastly I sprayed the whole thing with clear sealant and threw some glitter on it. 😉 I’ve still got about twice as many plates left, and I might just throw in some other colors as well and put up a whole wall of painted plates!

photo 2

Finished painted dinner plates. I’ll be hanging these in a cluster on my wall soon. I’ve got some more to make…

photo 1

Before: plain white dinner plates

Supplies used: various colors of craft paint, paint pen, paintbrush, sand paper, clear spray sealant, and glitter

Supplies used: various colors of craft paint, paint pen, paintbrush, sand paper, clear spray sealant, and glitter

4 thoughts on “Upcycled Dinner Plates

Leave a Reply

