Shell Stitch Crochet Baby Blanket

Shell Stitch Crochet Baby Blanket, folded

I’ve made a few of these so far, one of the pattern as written and two using smaller yarn and hook. See here for free pattern: https://www.thestitchinmommy.com/2013/12/shell-stitch-baby-blanket-free-pattern.html?m

Shell Stitch Crochet Baby Blanket

The original blanket pattern uses standard worsted weight yarn and J hook. For the blanket pictured, I used baby weight yarn and E hook.

My changes for the smaller yarn:

Ch 151, then follow pattern rows from original pattern. I used three colors (silver, purple, and white). Each color block is 15 rows, 6 blocks per blanket. For edging, instead of adding a shell edging, I just put on a round of double crochet, 3 dc at the corners. Final blanket size is approximately 33″ x 33″.

Leave a comment